UArizona Accomplishments Honored With Governor's Innovation Awards

UA News
Dr. Louise Hecker, research lead for a College of Medicine – Tucson lab studying highly selective Nox4 small molecule inhibitors for the treatment of fibrotic disorders, was selected to receive the Innovator of the Year Award in the academia category at the annual Governor's Celebration of Innovation Awards. Hecker was up against  three other nominees, all from the University of Arizona: the Center for Innovation in Brain Science, led by Dr. Roberta Diaz-Brinton, professor of pharmacology; the Galactic/Extragalactic ULDB Spectroscopic Terahertz Observatory, led by Dr. Christopher Walker, a professor of astronomy and associate professor of optical sciences; and the College of Medicine – Phoenix.